BREAKING: Big Country FCA All-Star Festival coaches announced

The coaches for the annual Big Country Fellowship of Christian Athletes were announced on Monday morning with the revelation that for the first time the event will include a three-day golf tournament in Eastland.

The inaugural golf tournament will run from Sunday, June 7, through Tuesday, June 9, on the Kingdom Course of the Solid Rock Camp near Lake Leon.

The seventh annual baseball and softball games will be played on June 12 at Angelo State University and then the festival winds up with a smorgasbord of events on June 13.

The eighth annual men’s and 12th annual women’s basketball games will be at the Brownwood Coliseum, the eighth annual volleyball game at Wylie High School’s Bulldog Gym and then the week-long event culminates for the 21st time at Shotwell Stadium with the Myrle Greathouse All-Star Football Classic.

“We are going to give it a try because it’s 40 more student athletes to serve, and we are going to give it a shot,” Big Country FCA Area Director Andy Penney said of adding golf.

Players selected to participate in their respective sports will be revealed at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 16 at Beltway Church’s south campus in Abilene.

The FCA All-Star Induction and Awards Banquet will be held at 4 p.m. on May 3 at the Abilene Convention Center with former sixth-round NFL draft pick James Dearth serving as the keynote speaker. He is a Tarleton State graduate.

Dearth was the 191st overall pick in the 1999 NFL Draft by the Cleveland Browns as a tight end, but spent most of his career as the long snapper for the New York Jets after signing there in 2001 as a free agent.

The Big Country Fellowship of Christian Athletes serves communities spread across a 37-county area including Abilene, the Concho Valley, the Brownwood area and Cross Timbers/Stephenville area.

The coaching squads for this year’s teams are as follows:


BLUE TEAM — Sammy Burnett (Head Coach, Brownwood), John Contrucci (Junction), Gary Moses (Cross Plains), Aaron Roan (Abilene Cooper), Tyler Tabor (Blanket), Luke Harrison (Clack Middle School, AISD)

RED TEAM — James Morton (Head Coach, Eastland), Scott Campbell (Clyde), Sterling Doty (Stephenville), Jody Guy (Olney), Marvin Wilson (Ballinger), Josh Gillespie (Wylie West Middle School, WISD)


NORTH  Mitzi Bell (Sweetwater), Paige Hauger (Newcastle), Doug Hampton (Craig Middle School, AISD)

SOUTH — Robynn Jones (Wall), Megan Rausch (Abilene Wylie), Cassie Dowdy (Madison Middle School, AISD)


NORTH  John Barnes (Three Way), Doug Galyean (Eastland)

SOUTH — Matt Preston (Hawley), Rocky Rawls (Bronte)


NORTH  Shella Arnwine (Roscoe), Karon Martinson (Throckmorton)

SOUTH — Mykia Anderson (Cross Plains), Britney Helton (Dublin)


NORTH  Adam Arrington (Graham), Jim Reese (Abilene High)

SOUTH — Jennifer Lynn (Brownwood), Kayla Matthews (San Angelo Central)


NORTH  David Fairchild (Albany), Shane Stewart (Snyder)

SOUTH — Rocky Bernal (Brady), Ryan Lewis (Jim Ned)


BOYS — Bill Culverhouse (Eastland)

GIRLS — Laura Martin (Brownwood)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.